Simply enter your keyword and we will help you find what you need.

What are you looking for?

Image Alt

David Y Mason’s Award

Don't miss this opportunity and prepare your application now ...

David Y Mason’s Award .


The European Association for Haematopathology is opening the first call for the David Y Mason’s Award thanks to the generous contribution of the David Y Mason Foundation. This Award wants to foster the interest of young researchers for Hematopathology and help them to become active members of our Society.


The aim of the award is to support the skills of young researchers, including pathologists, PhD, MD students who want to develop and establish their scientific activities in haemathopathology. Projects at the stages of pilot studies (rather than supporting ongoing or established research lines) are eligible for consideration across the spectrum from basic/clinical/translational research. The Award will provide a start-up funding to enable successful grant applications to national and international funding bodies.

Terms of Reference for the Award

Each Project Specification should be no more than two pages `{`font Times New Roman and size 12`}` and structured as it follows: Abstract, Aims, Details of the Project, References and Justification for the use of funds requested. The applicant should be a non-established researcher (medical doctor in training/junior faculty, biomedical researcher at the level of junior post-doc or similar) and should mention the mentor group in which the project will be developed. Presentations of Preliminary Results are encouraged.

A CV of the applicant should be included.

The projects are judged and ranked on the following criteria:

  • Relevance to areas of Haematopathology,
  • Scientific novelty and quality,
  • Feasibility of project and
  • Value for money.

Only one (1) project will be funded and the results presented at the following EA4HP meeting.


The projects should be addressed to the secretary-treasurer of the EA4HP Prof. Birgitta Sander ( and the deadline is June 30, 2024. The Awardee will be announced at the David Y Mason Memorial Lecture in the next EA4HP meeting, which is the 22nd meeting of the EA4HP-SH in Dubrovnik, Croatia, September 21–26, 2024.

Evaluation Committee

An Evaluation Committee will be made up of:

A) The President, Past-President and President-elect of the EA4HP;

B) Two non-European Hematopathologists, one Haematologist and a representant of DYM foundation.


The DYM foundation award will be £6.000. The fund cannot be used for buying new equipments and/or to cover part of staff salaries. The Awardee will present the results of the project at the following meeting of the EA4HP in 2026.

Past award winners

Luis Alberto Veloza Cabrera


Luis Alberto Veloza Cabrera

Role of microsatellite instability in the oncogenesis of primary intestinal T-cell lymphomas

Lukas Marcelis


Lukas Marcelis

Characterization of EBV+DLBCL microenviroment

Sanjay Patel


Sanjay S. Patel

Correlation of high NPM1 mutant allele burden at diagnosis with minimal residual disease in de novo AML

Darius Juskevicius


Darius Juskevicius

Genetic profiling of Hodgkin- and Reed-Sternberg cells of classical Hodgkin lymphoma enriched from archival formalin-fixed and paraffin-embedded tissue

Michiel van den Brand


Michiel van den Brandt

The driving force of nodal marginal zone lymphoma: exploring the NF-kappa B pathway

Programme .

Main Topics

Novel frontiers in Molecular diagnosis of lymphoma and Emerging disease entities

Members Get More! .

Become a member

Save up to €150 until 25 January 2021

You'll Fall In Love With Dubrovnik.

Get the latest updates!

Newsletter .

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest news and updates about EAHP-SH! You can unsubscribe from the mailing list at any time.

By clicking on ‘Subscribe’, you agree to receive the newsletter with information on EAHP-SH 2022, as well as to its analysis through individual measurement, storage and evaluation of opening rates and the click rates in recipient profiles for the purpose of designing future newsletters according to the interests of our readers. You can unsubscribe at any time. Please find detailed information in our privacy policy.